Friday, May 13, 2005

Microsoft Office Sucks

I really hope OpenOffice polishes up its functionality. I really need to get rid of the crappy Microsoft Office 2003. Have you ever used it and realized all the crap in it. I am not talking bloated applications but I am talking how unintuitive it actually is.

For example:
If you have 6 spread sheets open and you are on the last one and want to close it you would normally click the X in the upper right hand corner. Or that is what you would do if it followed any other conventions set by Microsoft. People say it is because Microsoft is using a "window inside a window" approach. The problem with this is Microsoft Office is the only application that will not follow their own rules. They create task bar entries for each spread sheet you have open. This signifies that it is a separate application. When you as a user follow the directions set forth by Microsoft the "should" be followed for each application it attempts to close all your open spreadsheets. And on top of that it starts from the first one open. It doesn't care if you had 15 open and just wanted to close the last one. It starts from the beginning and asks you about each one.

Why doesn't Microsoft follow their own rules? Why do you have to pay $300 for applications that aren't intuitive?